TESTIMONIALS

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"There are many places to visit in the Brecon Beacons. The owner and guide, James, grew up in the area, lives there now, and has family connections to the area going back generations. Plus he is a geologist. He is a wonderful guide. He was also willing to be flexible in planning a day trip that met our specific needs. I highly recommend him."

Marilyn S., Seattle, USA
Review was posted to TripAdvisorJune 2019

Heart of the Park and Waterfall Country (Sightseeing Tour), & Pen-y-Fan (Walking Tour)

"I booked two tours with James Cresswell, who runs Brecon Beacon tours - the Heart of the park and waterfalls tour one day and the Pen Y Fan + Corn Du walk another day. I was with my husband and 13 year old son. We simply loved it. James is way beyond an ordinary guide. His family is local to the area for hundreds of years, he has conducted expeditions to the Antarctic and Arctic and he is a trained geologist. Naturally, a trip under his care is totally safe, very informative and enjoyable. James picked us up both days from near our accommodation - which is what we requested. The first day, he drove us to the waterfalls and even took us behind them!!! That was so incredibly exciting and I would have never managed without his help. The second day, James drove us to the common starting point and then walked us up Pen Y Fan (the second highest peak in Wales) and Corn Ddu, which is next to it. He also showed us the gorgeous lakes visible en route. It was a truly amazing experience. What was really special about these tours is how James judged our needs and quietly customised the tour, while offering us clear choices all the time. During the tour, he was kind, considerate and reliable all the time. And did I mention the delicious sandwiches and generous lunch bag he includes in the price? Truly, if you are visiting Brecon Beacons, get in touch with James!"

Nandini C., London, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorApril 2019

Waterfall Country A (Walking Tour)

"A group of us went with James on a hike to see the best waterfalls. It was a beautiful walk. Very well organised. James was lovely - very informative and had lots of interesting stories! The walk wasn't difficult at all. Would definitely recommend it to anyone"

@Teamfafa, Lithuania
Review was posted to TripAdvisorNovember 2018

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"We were a family of four with two young children. We started the day in the morning at 9am and had a full day of well organized travel. James is very knowledgeable about the area and he was patient with us having young children. Throughout the day, while we visited quite a number of places, we did not feel rushed.Thank you, James! The tour was a great mix of scenery (mountains, park, lake), history (chapel and castle), some shopping for books. We enjoyed all the different places James brought us. We were also fascinated by the stories he shared and the fact that he knew so many people around. Thank you for the great tour! Highly recommended!"

Shuhui K., Singapore
Review was posted to TripAdvisorNovember 2018

Bespoke Tour (SIGHTSEEING TOUR)

"We had arranged with James Cresswell, of Brecon Beacons Tours, for his “Four Waterfalls Tour” in Brecon Beacons National Park. Because we were staying in Merthyr Tydfil, he arranged to pick us up there. So, in addition to a very interesting tour of geologic features and beautiful hikes around Brecon Beacons waterfalls, James showed us sights of importance to the industrial history of Merthyr Tydfil (and, by the way, of the world), including the site where the world’s first locomotive traveled, the remains of what was at one time the world’s largest iron smelter, and an historic iron bridge. Later on in the tour, in Defynnog, he showed us Europe’s oldest tree, a 5600 year old yew tree in St. Cynog’s churchyard. James is a font of information not only about the region’s geology but also it’s history. What a great day!"

Sue W., Minnesota, USA
Review was posted to TripAdvisorJune 2018

Best of Both Worlds (Walking Tour)

"I booked a tour to Pen-y-Fan grade B. However, on that day the weather in the mountains was not that great in the morning, so James suggested to visit a few waterfalls first and then take an easier way to Pen-y-Fan when the weather gets better in the afternoon. It was very nice to have alternative route instead of walking for a few hours in rain and fog. He is a real professional guide who knows a lot about the history of the region and about nature. Very talkative and easygoing, so the tour was very nice and interesting. I definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to visit Brecon Beacons."

Mikhail M., Moscow, Russia
Review was posted to TripAdvisorMarch 2018

Best of Both Worlds (Walking Tour)

"According to the weather forecast, there won't be much of a scenery on the Pen-Y-Fan Grade B Walk (which I chose for the tour) so the guide, James, suggested an alternative plan (2 Honey Pots Tour) for the day. James is friendly, encouraging and knowledgeable about Brecon Beacons. The tour is at a reasonable price as you are paying for his expertise, transportation (car), packed lunch and interesting insight of the national park. Really enjoyed the experience. It was my first mountain :) Great Tour!"

Amira A., Singapore
Review was posted to Google & Facebook March 2018

Waterfall Country A (Walking Tour)

"Wow! From start to finish we had a stunning day. We were fortunate enough to have both James & Abby on our tour. Both were very knowledgeable & used every day language insuring that we had full understanding of all that was being said. Throughout our waterfalls tour both James & Abby made us feel as if we were touring with long established friends because along with imparting information, our tour was liberally sprinkled with laughter. If you are thinking of visiting the Brecon Beacons I have no hesitation in highly recommending this tour."

Joi F., Jamaica
Review was posted to TripAdvisorApril 2018

Waterfall Country A (Walking Tour)

"Simply the best better than all the rest. A special thank you to James and Abby for going above and beyond to ensure every element of our Brecon Beacon waterfalls tour were tailored to our needs, from being picked up at our hotel at 9.30am to dropping off at 6pm. We captured so much of the beauty of the Brecon Beacon in that, plus with the ultimate knowledge of James and Abby made it awesome. Oh that delicious picnic... I forgot how nice a good Welsh cake can be... By the way James I now have a passion for geology. THE BEST BRECON BEACONS TOUR COMPANY. Thanks again, Verona"

Verona F., London, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorApril 2018

Heart of the Park and Waterfall Country (Sightseeing Tour)

"We would not have done and seen as much without James.He is really lovely and so informative. Was able to tweak the tour to our needs Thanks🙂"

Stephanie H., Sussex, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorApril 2018

BEST Of both worlds (walking tour)

"According to the weather forecast, there won't be much of a scenery on the Pen-Y-Fan Grade B Walk (which I chose for the tour) so the guide, James suggested an alternative plan for the day. James is friendly, encouraging and knowledgeable Brecon Beacons. The tour is at a reasonable price as you are paying for his expertise, transportation (car), packed lunch and interesting insight of the national park. Great Tour!"

Amira A., Cardiff, Wales
Review was posted to TripAdvisorMarch 2018

Heart of the Park and Waterfall Country (Sightseeing Tour)

"Our family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids took a family tour with James. We visited bronze age forts and waterfalls, with strolls up hills and around walking tracks. James is a smart bloke and uses this for good - it was very educational and interestingly so. James did not just dryly lecture, he spoke about what we saw and what we and our children were interested in. James's knowledge and skills, allowed him to alter the tour to suit our interests and abilities, we ended up with some scrambling, an extra waterfall, 5000 year old tree, explanations of geology, geography, history and culture. A mark of a great tour/group/adventure guide is being able to do offer a variety of experiences, but provide what the group with you wants/needs, to be focused on the group. James did this for us, and I am very grateful for it. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone and their family. Cheers - Ian"

Ian & Libby N., Queensland, Australia
Review was posted to TripAdvisor & Google, March 2018

Heart of the Park and Waterfall Country (Sightseeing Tour)

"I can't" is not an option as a single mum and this man made that so much easier to tackle. As a mum of an adventure hungry 7 year old boy a trip to the brecon beacons to see waterfalls sounded perfect - until you weigh the options of getting lost, injured in the middle of nowhere, terrifying heights and tough terrain. So sensibly I investigated and found the perfect guide. James was amazing. As a single parent he totally understood my hang ups and was experienced and able to step in when required with my son. I had total faith which led to an amazing experience for my little boy tat otherwise would have been impossible. The waterfalls are amazing. Breathtaking. The terrain was hard going and death crossed my mind a couple of times but I was encouraged to push on and put death of for a bit longer by James haha. If you are just about healthy enough and have sensible children James is the person to go to to make adventures possible and the sights are well worth overcoming any height fears."

Lorraine H., Kent, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorMarch 2018

Castles - Beacons' Gatekeepers (Sightseeing Tour)

"We found James online when we arrived in Abergavenny; my husband thought his castles tour would be a good way for us to get out and see some of the ruins in the countryside since we did not have our own car. And he was right! We connected with James via email and arranged for him to pick us up in his minivan at the Abergavenny bus station. Our tour was just the three of us: me, my husband, and James. We did the full day castles tour and hiring James was a great idea because that allowed us to get out and see little places we would not have seen otherwise. Also we were fortunate to have a beautiful, sunny day, but the tour would still have been fun on a cloudy or slightly wet day. We saw several different castle ruins, along with multiple churches which were often near the castles. Later in the day after getting to know us a bit, James suggested that we divert from his "regular" route and look at a ruined abbey, so we did, and it was a smart choice since that was one of my favorite sights of the day. Things we enjoyed: getting off the beaten track out into the countryside; seeing all of the sights; getting to know James, who is personable, intelligent, and eager to exchange ideas; our substantial lunch included with the tour, which contained a sandwich, slice of quiche, crispy snacks, two kinds of fruit, a chocolate bar, and Welsh cakes, along with water. Tips if you go: wear comfortable shoes and clothes that allow for climbing stairs, walking in potentially muddy areas, etc. Layer your jackets/overshirts - there is a lot of time in the vehicle but there is time outside, too. Overall we thought our day out with James was one of the best days of our two-week holiday in England and Wales and we would certainly go out on tour with him again."

Nicole A., Arizona, USA
Review was posted to TripAdvisorMarch 2018

Waterfall Country A (Walking Tour) & The Abergavenny Trio (Walking Tour)

"Really enjoyed my past two days of guided walks (All 3 Walk Behinds & Black Mountains) with James! He was very knowledgable about the area, and I learned so much more than I would have if I had come alone. He was great at recommending changes in the itinerary when the weather wasn't cooperating, and I am very pleased with all of the mountaintop views and (12!!!) waterfalls I got to see! What a great adventure I stumbled across! Thank you again!"

Hannah H., Kentucky, USA
Review was posted to TripAdvisor,& Facebook December 2017

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"As a family from Australia who are not experienced in driving little country lanes, this tour was amazing. We would not have been able to find the amazing little churches, country areas and scenic views etc without James. We did the Monks, Mountains and Book Tour but because we had already been to Hay, James was more than happy to modify the itinerary and we had extra time at Tretower. My husband was able to walk some of the Brecons with James and being a local, James made the tour very personal and enjoyable. The picnic lunch was excellent and all in all, this tour or any one of the tour James offers are a MUST do if you want to see the real Brecons area and amazing little places down hidden country lanes with a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide"

Carol D., Queensland, Australia
Review was posted to TripAdvisorSeptember 2017

Bespoke Tour (Walking)

"We are as thrilled as our friends and guests and our daughter who had the most amazing bespoke tour today. James and Abby of Brecon Beacons tours were awesome. Highly recommended.It is well worth investing in a tour to see so much more than you would on your own and the lunch, stories, history and information are priceless."

Kayt C., Brecknockshire, Wales
Review was posted to TripAdvisor Facebook, July 2017 

Bespoke Tour (WALKING)

"Anything done with heart and soul makes it that much more special. Matthew, Rell and I were wowed by the tour we had with the dynamic James. What an amazing adventure fueled by a delicious picnic lunch. Thanks Abby. James was knowledgeable, pleasant and fun and took into account our individual needs and thrilled my son to bits as the boys got to go "off the beaten path". Thanks guys for a fantastic excursion. Above and beyond our expectations."

Nicki P., Castries, Saint Lucia
Review was posted to Facebook, July 2017

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"We selected the Mountains, Monks & Books tour. Four of us were in our party, we were picked up at the agreed time from our B&B and we set off for what turned out to be a very full day's itinerary touring around the east of the Brecon Beacons. James is a wonderful guide as he has so much local knowledge alongside imparting some detailed family history relating to this area. James loves what he does and as you get into the tour one cannot help but start to share his passion for this beautiful area of mid-Wales so rich in wildlife and history. Our picnic lunch was excellent, more than some of us could finish. My wife and I are not the most fit of individuals, the itinerary was amended to take this into account, walking was kept to a minimum. James drove along very narrow lanes over the hills and through the valleys with great skill and care. We would not hesitate to recommend Brecon Beacon Tours, you will be guaranteed a fantastic value day out, off the beaten track (for the majority of the time) in great company!"

Paul W., Somerset, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorJuly 2017

Heart of the Park and Waterfall Country (Sightseeing Tour)

"We had a great experience with James.He arrived on time to pick us up at our Hotel in Brecon, and we were off. Although we're in our fifties and not walkers we walked all day and had a great time. It was absolutely pouring down but with our waterproofs on and waterproof walking boots, it was fantastic! We visited 4 waterfalls in full flow, James explaining everything, enthusiastically and in great spirits.We had a packed lunch in his camper van. Too much to eat. We both thoroughly enjoyed his company all day. A pleasure to be with. Unforgettable! Highly recommend this Tour..."

Judith P., Essex, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorJune2017

BESPOKE TOUR (SIGHTSEEING)

"James gave us an amazing tour around the national park, a mix of driving and walking. He was a really friendly, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable guide - a walking encyclopedia. The scenery was stunning and the history rich. 100% would recommend to anyone planning on visiting the Brecon Beacons."

Abe N., Oxford, England
Review was posted to Facebook, July 2017

Waterfall Country B (Walking Tour)

"My sister found this activity while we were looking for activities close to the B&B we were staying at, for a weekender in the Brecon Beacons region of Wales). We were looking to do some hiking in the area, and the idea of having someone take us on a guided hike, rather than relying on our own limited navigational abilities, as well as telling us about the history and geology of the area, seemed ideal. Out of the options available, we chose the day hike through waterfall country. We were collected by James at the B&B at a very respectable 9.30am, and took a spectacular, scenic route through the park to arrive at our jumping off point. What can I tell you.... the weather was marvelous, the locations were spectacular, and the guide was great! Get beyond the history and the geology, and you have an individual who clearly loves what he's telling you about; the people, the history and the land. The pace he set was exactly the pace we wanted, and there was a bonus of a pub stop a few miles from the end to refuel flagging leg muscles. Lunch was prepared in advance by his very understanding partner, and there was no shortage of treats! Be aware that this walk will last most of the day, and is approximately 11 miles in length, however there are shorter options available. The route is sometimes muddy underfoot (this is waterfall country after all), and is at an intermediate level with a fair amount of rough terrain. His unique selling point is his desire to take you to all the best places, while trying to avoid the main routes and other tourists. Goal achieved. We had a great time with a knowledgeable and humorous individual - thank you James, for your knowledge, enthusiasm and fun! Highly recommended :)"

Paula K., Hampshire, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorJune 2017

Pen -y-Fan (Walking Tour)

"James lead the Pen-y-Fan Horseshoe walk. It was an excellent walk on a beautiful day with great views. I highly recommend Brecon Beacons Tours."

Greg B., Sussex, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorJune 2017

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"My husband and I took the Mountains, Monks and Books tour with James. We had a fabulous day visiting churches, climbing mountains and looking in bookshops in Hay-on-Wye. We traveled in by train from Cardiff and James met us at the station. He grew up in this area and knows about the history, geology and folklore of the area. This tour is a circular route around the eastern area of the national park. We visited several churches and a priory, we climbed up to the top of Mt Hereford's Knob, climbed down to a waterfall and strolled around Hay-on-Wye. We also had a very pleasant picnic down by the river just outside of Hay. All in all we had a fantastic day and would highly recommend these tours."

Sue P., Virginia, USA
Review was posted to TripAdvisorMay 2017

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"Some friends and I recently did the Mountains, Monks, and Books tour with James, and we loved every minute of it. James was a fantastic guide for our day in and around the park. He's extremely knowledgeable on the area and we couldn't have had this experience without him. Loved our picnic lunch as well. Several different tours are available, and I doubt you could go wrong with any of them. I loved the Mountains, Monks, and Books tour, as it shows you a nice variety of sites. Loved stopping in Hay-on-Wye to check out some bookstores too. It actually made me wish I had an additional day just to spend more time there. I highly recommend James and his Brecon Beacons Tours! It was definitely a highlight of our trip to Wales."

Jen S., Georgia, USA
Review was posted to TripAdvisorMay 2017

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"This day tour with James was wonderful ... from being picked up and dropped off at our door ... to the home made lunch and everything in between it was amazing. No planning no research no driving on narrow roads all of this was done for us. We were driven through the national park by a guide who not only had local knowledge but who new the geology, the history, translated for us and gave us lots of fun little facts along the way. We started the day knowing very little and finished up knowing a lot more. We saw stunning scenery ,from the Black Mountain, Fforest Ffawr, Pen-y-fan and the Black Mountains range it was spectacular ... the views over Llangorse and all of the wonderful quirky churches he took us to along the way. We didn't do the tourist routes ... he took us through all of the little back lanes and all we had to do was sit back and enjoy. Take the tour you will be amazed."

Suzanne D., Australia
Review was posted to TripAdvisorApril2017

Heart of the Park and Waterfall Country (Sightseeing Tour)

"It was an amazing day out in brecon beacons. We did this day tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. James was very knowledgable and got extensive tour experience which helped us see some off the track scenes. We did the tour last weekend and the weather was amazing. Very much recommended for a great day out"

Kiran D., Gwynedd, Wales
Review was posted to TripAdvisorDecember 2016

Pen -y-Fan (Walking Tour)

"My boyfriend and I signed up with James' tour after doing a spot of research and reading reviews. We put in an enquiry via James' website and his replies were timely. We stayed at his parents' B&B, being Tara B&B where we enjoyed fantastic food, hot showers and comfortable beds. We went for the Pen y Fan and the Brecon Beacons horseshoe tour, setting off from the B&B at 9am. James was very knowledgeable about all things - geology, history, culture. He took us off the beaten track so we wouldn't run into throngs of other people on our walk up. He also gave us options on various routes to take. I chose a slightly more adventurous route walking along the edge of the mountain and James ensured that we completed our entire hike safely. He also had a nice emergency tent which we used as shelter for eating a nice picnic lunch in at the top of Pen y Fan. As we still had some daylight when we were finished with our hike, James also took us to see Llangorse Lake which was not part of our itinerary. All in all a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend James as a reliable, knowledgeable and flexible guide. Thanks James!"

Tabitha Q., Singapore
Review was posted to TripAdvisorDecember 2016

Heart of the Park and Waterfall Country (Sightseeing Tour)

"We've just come back from a lovely week in the Brecon Beacons and day 2, our waterfall tour with James was definitely a highlight. We are a family of 4 (children aged 11 & 10 months). The day just couldn't have been better - it had been raining for the previous week so the waterfalls were full and impressive and the weather was glorious. We walked through areas which we likened to Australian rainforests and were wowed again & again by stunning scenery. James was an excellent guide, he was informative and interesting, he showed us places we would never have found alone and provided a plentiful, delicious picnic. I would definitely recommend and would definitely do another tour with James if we were to holiday in the area again."

@sunlovingjanners, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisorAugust 2016

Wild West (Sightseeing Tour)

"We were in Wales for a week and wanted to be able to spend a full day in Brecon Beacons. We were not going to have a car, so we needed a guided driver tour. After looking all over the web and reviewing several options we went with James at Brecon Beacons Tours. Wow are we glad we did! We did the Wild West tour and it was AMAZING! James is a local (he lives in the park) and he is also a geologist, so he knowledgeable about the local history and also the science behind how the park was formed. You can not go wrong with this company! My husband fell on some slippery steps while on the tour and John had the supplies and know how to bandage up his cut elbow like a pro! What most impressed me was that the weather was a little questionable in the morning (fog and light rain) so James modified the route/itinerary so that we were able to do the walking in the afternoon to take advantage of the improved weather. The lunch was delicious and it was partially home made by James own mother. Be aware that if you do The Wild West Tour that there is quite a bit of walking, some of it up fairly steep hills and inclines, so be prepared and wear good walking/hiking shoes."

Scott K., USA
Review was posted to GoogleSeptember 2016

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"Myself and my girlfriend had the pleasure of the tour in the east of the Brecon Beacons last weekend. James is a brilliant tour guide with his extensive local knowledge of the area as well as his friendly, open and professional approach. The tour itself is a breathtaking combination of beautiful mountain scenery and fascinating historical sites with James's local knowledge showing us places we never would have found on our own. There is a nice symmetry to the tour and it is done in a very logical, yet spectacular manner. Would highly recommend and I wish all the success to James for the stellar service he provides."

Sasha E., Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Review was posted to TripAdvisor & Facebook October 2015

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"James takes you on one of several tours around the Beacons he has designed himself. Not only is he great value, with his incredible local knowledge of the area you'll feel like you've seen the real Wales and not just been on some whirlwind tour of it. James is accommodating and thoughtful in what he shows you and you can expect the tour to really meet whatever you desire to get out of the national park. So many areas he showed us were quite out of the way and really quiet. It was nice to avoid the tourist trap areas. Easily accessible to meet at the start point by train from Cardiff too. If you're ever in the Brecon Beacons don't hesitate to give James a call and arrange the best tour of the area you could possibly imagine!"

Jacob W., Sydney, Australia
Review was posted to TripAdvisor, September 2015

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"It's not just about geology, or how the scenery of the Brecon Beacons evolved into what it is today (stunning by the way). James will give you some fascinating insights into history, culture, industry and society within his much-loved part of the UK - as well as some great personal stories about his travels both locally and far, far abroad. Look for the bumper stickers on his vehicle that sit the Welsh dragon next to a sticker for Antarctica! I found the route achieved a great balance between driving along wonderfully scenic roads and stopping for short walks and sightseeing in both remote and more populated areas - and I saw several beautiful chapels, the amazing ruins of Llantony Priory, the lovely town of Hay-on-Wye, a hidden waterfall, the highest road in Wales, the Dragon's Back mountain, the remains of the ironworks at Blaenavon (a glimpse of the region's industrial past) and much more. Highly recommended - don't miss if you're in the area."

Karen L., London, England
Review was posted to TripAdvisor Facebook, August 2015

Mountain, Monks and Books (Sightseeing Tour)

"Although this tour seems pretty new, I decided to go with it as it is the only one that offers day tours that suit my itinerary. And I've no regrets! James has been really accommodating - I merely mentioned my interest in the animals and he constantly makes the effort to stop by them for me to interact (if it's safe) and take photos of them (he even got a perfect photo of a sheep which is uploaded on FB!). In fact, James has been educating people through what he learnt in his geology studies for 9 years and has travelled over 70 countries - how impressive?! Of course, the tour was informative where we visited churches, book shops and hills/mountains. The lunch cooked by his Mom was also lovely and thoughtful. Rest assured that he will bring lots of water for you! He's certainly flexible in planning the tour according to my interests and needs. I also went on to stay at his B&B - Tara B&B and I'm absolutely impressed. It's so gorgeous especially with a view of the lush greenery, it's so clean, tidy and well-equipped including an en-suite bathroom. The bed is super fluffy and comfortable too. I wouldn't hesitate to come back again!"

Qiaz H., Singapore
Review was posted to TripAdvisorJuly 2015

FFOREST FAWR GEOPARK WALKING FESTIVAL (2013)

"Being widely travelled, James is able to bring his knowledge of and passion for far-flung places to bear on the locality he is visiting. A walk exploring the legacy of the ice age in the Brecon Beacons comes to life as he makes the connections with modern day polar regions. The geologist’s mantra is ‘the present is the key to the past’ – what better way to get to know our own past glaciers than in the company of someone who is intimately acquainted with the present-day ones?"

Alan B., (Fforest Fawr Geopark Officer), Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Review was posted to Freeindex, October 2013

Geology TOUR - U3A FIELD TRIP (2013)

"James led a group of 10-15 members of the Hay U3A, for 5 field trips during the summer of 2013. We were all fairly new to geology. He devised a programme of field trips that helped us understand the geology of our surrounding landscapes, taking us to various sites that were packed with interest, from dinosaur prints, to walking behind waterfalls, and included lots of information on social history and industrial archaeology along the way. He was meticulous in the planning and organisation, and tailor made the days to suit our capabilities. We are all fired with enthusiasm for more geology field trips in 2014. Thank you James!"

Lorraine W., Brecknockshire, Wales
Review was posted to Freeindex, October 2013

HAY-ON-WYE WALKING FESTIVAL (2011, 2012 AND 2013)

"James has led geology walks for us for the Hay Walking Festival over the past 3 years, and also during the Hay Literary Festival in May 2013. His walks have received very positive feedback from participants, who all come away feeling they have both learnt a great deal about the geology of the area as well as having very good exercise!" 

Alison O., Herefordshire, England
Review was posted to Freeindex, October 2013

Geology TOUR - U3A FIELD TRIP (2013)

"I have been a part of the Hay-on-Wye U3A geology group and can honestly say that I have enjoyed every excursion. We visited a variety of sites with James who was an excellent guide and I look forward to more.

Keith H., Herefordshire, England
Review was posted to Freeindex, October 2013